top of page

Welcome to

human crossing

The romantic, platonic and potentially due to gin and tonic ways that people of Kingston have met each other.

Read More

Check Out Our Posts

  • Writer's picturehumancrossing

Get to Know Aislin and Cam

Updated: Nov 25, 2018

You may have already seen the adorable Instagram pictures that this incredibly photogenic couple posts, but you probably don’t know the whole story of what brought them together. Aislin and Cam are currently both in their fourth year in the Commerce program and have been together for almost two years now. Nevertheless, the story of how they met begins way back in their first year at Queen’s University…

As fate would have it, they were not only in the same class section, but were also assigned to the same Capsim group – the business simulation game that every first year Commerce student knows and loves.


Aislin: “We were in the same Commerce class section in first year and met through our assigned Capsim group. Small world!”


Cam: “Shout out to Greg Libitz for putting me in a Capsim group with my now-girlfriend and three of my other best friends in Commerce.”


Their first meet-up was a classic coffee date at Crave Coffee House & Bakery.


Cam: “We went to Crave, but when I showed up, Aislin’s housemate was there too. Not much of a date and a little bit awkward, but oh well!”


Nevertheless, this didn’t stop the two from connecting because they would soon have their second date at Score – enjoying some delicious, build-your-own, stone-fired pizza.


Aislin: “Highly recommend!”


Cam and Aislin had the opportunity to get know each other quite well before these dates, having spent a lot of time together during first year Capsim meetings. In fact, as Aislin remembers:


Aislin: “Based on Capsim, I think Cam thought I couldn’t follow instructions, since I used to write 2 pages for my part of our reports instead of the assigned ½ page and ask him to edit it so the report was within the word limit. So, I guess my first impression was that he was smart and a really nice guy. Still feel the same way!!”


*cue the awe*

Cam’s first impression of Aislin was that she incredibly driven.


Cam: “In Capsim, I thought Aislin was intense and tried too hard. I still think that. I also thought she was really sweet and helpful, and I really admired her work ethic. I still think that too!”


Fortunately, they were both on exchange in Europe during the winter semester of third year, resulting in them being able to travel together. While most of Aislin’s favourite memories from exchange involve travelling and hiking with Cam, she looks back especially fondly on their hike together in Cinque Terre, Italy.


Aislin: “It was pouring rain and we kept getting lost on the trail, but in hindsight, I can’t think of anyone else who would have made the trip more fun. Great food, great adventures and great company.”


Cam’s favourite memory of time spent with Aislin was just before exams in third year, when she travelled to the Cayman Islands with him.


Cam: “It was so much fun showing her where I grew up and doing all of my favourite island things, like jet skiing, free diving and swimming with the stingrays!”


Aislin loves how caring Cam is and how he goes out of his way to help people, regardless of whether they are family, friends or an acquaintance reaching out with (typically) a finance question. Cam has always admired how hard Aislin works to achieve her goals and loves how authentic she is.


Aislin: “He really cares about others and when he commits to help out with something, he always gives 110%.”


Cam: “She’s such a genuine and humble person, and I think that’s why she’s so well liked by virtually everyone who knows her.”

These two have bonded over their shared love of food and enjoy trying out new cuisines, restaurants and recipes together. When they are not living their best foodie life, Cam and Aislin love going to watch new movies in the theatre.


Cam: “We’ve made it a mission to try and eat at as many restaurants in Kingston as possible before we graduate.”


Distance has been the biggest challenge for Cam and Aislin, especially being apart while on exchange. Specifically, figuring out the best way to balance travelling together with meeting new people and travelling with friends. Evidently, they made it work and Aislin got to have Cam as her personal tour guide when she visited him in Barcelona – and vice versa, when he came to see her in Vienna.


Aislin: “I think it was easier since we were both on exchange meeting new people and really trusted each other…Overall, I wouldn’t change a thing.”


However, exchange was not the only time when this couple would face the obstacle of distance. Over this past summer, Cam was working in New York, while Aislin’s job was based in Toronto. The couple admits that time to talk was limited, especially between working long hours and Aislin’s hectic travel schedule. However, they managed to stay connected by making sure to figure out some time to chat every week when they were both free. Of course, it also helped that Aislin was able to visit Cam in New York one weekend!


When asked about cute or funny stories, the couple initially said that they didn’t think they had any…


Aislin: “Ummm I think Cam has a lot more embarrassing stories about me than cute stories.”


However, based on these next two adorable tales, it is clear to see that this is far from the truth. One story that Aislin remembers clearly was the time when she flew to Barcelona to visit Cam on exchange. He tried to surprise her by waiting at the gate after her flight arrived, but they somehow managed to miss each other entirely.


Aislin: “I had no idea he was coming, so I got off the plane and literally left the airport to take a bus into the city before he called me and we realized he’d missed me at the exit gate. Anyway, he caught me before I got on the bus into Barcelona and then spent the next week taking me to all of his favourite tapas restaurants and ordering for us in Spanish. It was really sweet of him and turned into one of my favourite trips on exchange.”

Valenciana, Spain

As for Cam, he distinctly remembers trying to ask Aislin out in first year…and not being successful.


Cam: “Funnily enough, I actually tried to ask Aislin out at one point in first year. Unfortunately for me, she said no, so I kind of let it go for a little while. I’m really glad it all worked out when we started dating in the spring of second year!”


When asked if they had any words of wisdom for the readers of Human Crossing, the couple had this to say:


Aislin: “Date the people in your Capsim group - I actually know so many couples who met this way, [so] it must be a good sign.”


Cam: “Try to date someone that’s smarter than you are!”

- Love, Human Crossing


p.s. If you are interested in learning more about how other Queen's alumni are doing...check out our friends at The Limestone Era. (They even feature the iconic Professor D. J. McConomy!)

938 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2
bottom of page