top of page

Welcome to

human crossing

The romantic, platonic and potentially due to gin and tonic ways that people of Kingston have met each other.

Read More

Check Out Our Posts

  • Writer's picturehumancrossing

Get to Know Human Crossing


Hi everyone,


As week 12 is underway and the semester is wrapping up, so is this blog project (#sad)... Since we have spent most of this semester interviewing other people, we thought we'd give our readers a little bit of insight as to why we started this blog by chatting about what 'Human Crossing' means to each of us.


Check out the video above to find out (big thanks to Julia for splicing this together)!

(A transcript has been provided below in case you're in class right now...)


Fun Bonus: Each of us also shared what we love most about our fellow co-founders!)


(Full video transcript)


All: Hi, we're the founders of Human Crossing!


Julia: I'm Julia.


Alana: I'm Alana.


Mae: I'm Mae.


Alana: So, we made this video to give you guys a little bit of insight into what Human Crossing means to us. So keep watching for some fun times!


Julia


Mae: What does Human Crossing mean to you?


Julia: Well, when we came up with Human Crossing, the first thing that came to my mind was a famous quote by one of my favourite authors:


'You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You're on your on, you know what you know...


*points at the camera*


You are the person who'll decide where you'll go.'


And it's true. As you're going through the path of life, you'll meet people, whether it's relationship, friendships, or just people along the way...and the whole point in life is your interactions with them, because every single person you meet will add something to your life that builds the puzzle piece of your story. That's what Human Crossing means to me.


Mae: What do you love most about your co-founders at Human Crossing?


Julia: Well, first of all, for Alana... The best way to describe how I feel about her is when I went to pick her up at the airport after I hadn't seen her for, I think, 8 months. I wrote a sign that said: 'Welcome Home Sunshine' and that's what she is to me. A big ray of sunshine in my life. Her smile makes me so happy and I can talk to her about anything. She is always able to put a smile on my face and she's really a good positive light. She can take any bad situation and turn it into something...uh, silver lining!


Then for Mae, Mae is just a little ball of fierceness. What I love about her is not just her gung-ho attitude, but she's really motherly...which is really important because I do not know how to 'adult' a lot of the time.


*we laugh*


But what I love about that is that she really likes to take care of people, not just like cooking and cleaning for me... *laughs* But, she really does care about me and really wants to make sure that I'm okay and she always wants us to be our best. Even when she gets stern sometimes, it's only for our best interests and she always wants us to be our best self. And I really love that about her.


Alana


Mae: What does Human Crossing mean to you?


Alana: To me, Human Crossing represents the importance of really cherishing and appreciating those relationships you have in your life. In a world that's increasingly involved in social media, sometimes it's really hard to find those genuine connections. To me, Human Crossing is just showcasing the beauty that is human connection.


Mae: What do you love about your co-founders at Human Crossing?


Alana: What I love about Julia is, first of all, her goofiness. We have so much fun together and I know that I can always laugh and she'll take it and go with it, and we'll just go for hours. I also love her support and her commitment. Everything she does, she does 100%. I have never met someone as committed to people as Julia is and it is quite beautiful and fantastic.


What I love about Mae? Well, there's so many things. But, I love her sense of humour. We have crazy, off-colour jokes that go on forever. I just love the way that she's there to care for me, to support me, to help me out when I'm down, and to be just...there, and [be] wonderful all the time. It's fantastic.


Mae


Julia: Okay Mae, what does Human Crossing mean to you?


Mae: I think what Human Crossing does is it highlights human connection and it does this by showcasing the really authentic stories of how people met and just how their relationship has evolved - whether this is romantic, platonic, or anything in between - and I think this is really beautiful.


Julia: Okay Mae, tell us why you love your fellow co-founders of Human Crossing.


Mae: Okay, I think this is a really hard question, because there is just too much that I love about both of you guys. For Julia, I would say I love her sense of humour, and that she brings out a really fun, dynamic, wacky side of us when we're all together.


As for Alana, we just get each other on some weird... *laughs* ...not-always-appropriate level, and I think that's also very good to have with someone.


Julia: And we just wanted to thank YOU GUYS for all of your support so far. We're so happy that you've enjoyed our content and we can't wait to put out more stuff for you guys!



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Blog2
bottom of page